- 1946: no award given
- 1945: A Bell for Adano by John Hersey
- 1944: **Journey in the Dark** by Martin Flavin
- 1943: **Dragon's Teeth** by Upton Sinclair
- 1942: In This Our Life by Ellen Glasgow
- 1941: no award given
- 1940: **The Grapes of Wrath** by John Steinbeck
- 1939: The Yearling by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings
- 1938: **The Late George Apley** by John Phillips Marquand
- 1937: Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
- 1936: **Honey in the Horn** by Harold L. Davis
- 1935: Now in November by Josephine Winslow Johnson
- 1934: Lamb in His Bosom by Caroline Miller
- 1933: The Store by Thomas Sigismund Stribling
- 1932: **The Good Earth** by Pearl S. Buck
- 1931: Years of Grace by Margaret Ayer Barnes
- 1930: Laughing Boy by Oliver La Farge
- 1929: Scarlet Sister Mary by Julia Peterkin
- 1928: The Bridge of San Luis Rey by Thornton Wilder
- 1927: Early Autumn by Louis Bromfield
- 1926: **Arrowsmith** by Sinclair Lewis (declined prize)
- 1925: **So Big!** by Edna Ferber
- 1924: The Able McLaughlins by Margaret Wilson
- 1923: **One of Ours** by Willa Cather
- 1922: Alice Adams by Booth Tarkington
- 1921: **The Age of Innocence** by Edith Wharton
- 1920: no award given
- 1919: **The Magnificent Ambersons** by Booth Tarkington
- 1918: His Family by Ernest Poole

Pulitzer Prize-Winning Fiction



DEER PARK PUBLIC LIBRARY

44 Lake Avenue Deer Park, NY 11729 (631) 586-3000

| 2012: no award given | 1980: The Executioner's Song by Norman Mailer |
|---|--|
| 2011: Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan | 1979: The Stories of John Cheever by John Cheever |
| 2010: Tinkers by Paul Harding | 1978: Elbow Room by James Alan McPherson |
| 2009: Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout | 1977: No award given |
| 2008: The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz | 1976: Humboldt's Gift by Saul Bellow |
| 2007: The Road by Cormac McCarthy | 1975: The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara |
| 2006: March by Geraldine Brooks | 1974: No award given |
| 2005: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson | 1973: The Optimist's Daughter by Eudora Welty |
| 2004: The Known World by Edward P. Jones | 1972: Angle of Repose by Wallace Stegner |
| 2003: Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides | 1971: No award given |
| 2002: Empire Falls by Richard Russo | 1970: The Collected Stories of Jean Stafford by Jean Stafford |
| 2001: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay by | 1969: House Made of Dawn by N. Scott Momaday |
| Michael Chabon | 1968: The Confessions of Nat Turner by William Styron |
| 2000: Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri | 1967: The Fixer by Bernard Malamud |
| 1999: The Hours by Michael Cunningham | 1966: The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter by |
| 1998: American Pastoral by Philip Roth | Katherine Anne Porter |
| 1997: Martin Dressler: The Tale of an American Dreamer by | 1965: The Keepers of the House by Shirley Ann Grau |
| Steven Millhauser | 1964: No award given |
| 1996: Independence Day by Richard Ford | 1963: The Reivers by William Faulkner |
| 1995: The Stone Diaries by Carol Shields | 1962: The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O'Connor |
| 1994: The Shipping News by E. Annie Proulx | 1961: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee |
| 1993: A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain by | 1960: Advise and Consent by Allen Drury |
| Robert Olen Butler | 1959: The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters by |
| 1992: A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley | Robert Lewis Taylor |
| 1991: Rabbit at Rest by John Updike | 1958: A Death in the Family by James Agee |
| 1990: The Mambo Kings Play Songs of Love by Oscar | 1957: No award given |
| Hijuelos | 1956: Andersonville by MacKinlay Kantor |
| 1989: Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler | 1955: A Fable by William Faulkner |
| 1988: Beloved by Toni Morrison | 1954: No award given |
| 1987: A Summons to Memphis by Peter Taylor | 1953: The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway |
| 1986: Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry | 1952: The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk |
| 1985: Foreign Affairs by Alison Lurie | 1951: The Town by Conrad Richter |
| 1984: Ironweed by William Kennedy | 1950: The Way West by A. B. Guthrie, Jr. |
| 1983: The Color Purple by Alice Walker | 1949: Guard of Honor by James Gould Cozzens |
| 1982: Rabbit Is Rich by John Updike | 1948: Tales of the South Pacific by James A. Michener |
| 1981: A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole | 1947: All the King's Men by Robert Penn Warren |